You are here:Home>International>Free Downloads>Latest News

NCPA Issues An Official Statement On Pandit Ravi Shankar's Demise

  • Published in Latest News

Ravi Shankar Passed Away NCPA

Here's the official statement issued by NCPA as it has been announced a few hours ago, Pandit Ravi Shankar has passed away:

“We are deeply saddened by the loss of India’s greatest sitar maestro, Pandit Ravi Shankar. A musician-par-excellence, Panditji was one of India’s first cultural ambassadors to the West, and possibly the earliest classical Indian musician to work with International legends such as Yehudi Menuhin and Philip Glass. He pioneered new innovations in the field of contemporary Indian music and spearheaded several world music projects. At the NCPA, Panditji performed on a number of occasions including at our year-long celebrations of India’s 50th year of independence in a programme called Ardha Katha, in 1997. Today, the world of music has lost a gem.”

Subscribe to this RSS feed

Our Services

We are a creative crew comprising of mainly music enthusiasts with an ultimate objective of making the music scene a much more better place for everyone. IMR is a place where we realize our passion; our reason for existence and not just a mere workplace.

However, you can collaborate with us and you can anticipate some passably great things!

Buy Us Beer